TOGAF 9 Level 1 Foundation

TOGAF 9 Level 1 Foundation

Course overview

The TOGAF® 9 Training Course: Level 1 Foundation is a 2-day, interactive, classroom-based learning experience. The course covers the Foundation Level 1 curriculum and includes many examples of architecture deliverable and artefacts are provided throughout the course. 

The course enables participants to successfully complete the associated TOGAF® Level 1 exam, known as TOGAF® 9 Foundation. The certification provides validation that the candidate has gained knowledge of the terminology, structure,
and basic concepts of TOGAF® 9, and understands the core principles of Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF®.

This TOGAF® 9 Training Course: Level 1 Foundation is being run by Global Knowledge in association with ITpreneurs and is accredited by The Open Group.

Target audience

  • Individuals who require a basic understanding of TOGAF® 9
  • Professionals who are working in roles associated with an architecture project such as those responsible for planning, execution, development, delivery, and operation
  • Architects who are looking for a first introduction to TOGAF® 9
  • Architects who want to achieve Level 2 certification.


Individuals certified at this level will have demonstrated their understanding of:

  • The basic concepts of Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF®
  • The core concepts of TOGAF® 9
  • The key terminology of TOGAF® 9
  • The ADM cycle and the objectives of each phase, and how to adapt and scope the ADM
  • The concept of the Enterprise Continuum; its purpose and constituent parts
  • How each of the ADM phases contributes to the success of enterprise architecture
  • The ADM guidelines and techniques
  • How Architecture Governance contributes to the Architecture Development Cycle
  • The concepts of views and viewpoints and their role in communicating with stakeholders
  • The concept of building blocks
  • The key deliverables of the ADM cycle
  • The TOGAF® reference models
  • The TOGAF® certification program.


There are no formal prerequisites; it is recommended that participants have experience in the IT domain.

Certification info

  • Certification is only achieved by passing the examination.
  • The exam is in closed-book format and includes 40 multiple-choice questions. The passing score is 55% (22 out of 40 questions).
  • The exam lasts for 60 minutes and can be taken onsite (online) or through Pearson Vue test centres.